Sweet Potato And Turkey Pie

image-4Here’s my first go at writing up one of my recipes, I’m normally a bit of a throw everything in the pan and see what comes out kind of a girl. It helps with cutting down on food waste, if your plans aren’t too rigid.

I’m allergic to all fish and seafood ( I LOVE IT – it hates me) and am gluten and dairy intolerant. So when I buy a cookery book I tend to end up adapting the recipes to suit my own requirements.

This is one of my favourite comfort food dishes. It’s great for chilly spring days like today as well as a hearty meal in the middle of winter.  I’ve adapted it from a Joe Wicks Lean in 15 recipe. I love to add spring onions to my mash ever since I visited my lovely friend Jenny in Northern Ireland and she introduced me to Champ.

For The Mash –

4 Good Sized Sweet Potatoes (add more if you like a really thick layer)

3-4 Spring Onions

Knob Of Dairy Free Spread

Salt And Pepper To Taste

 

For the Filling –

1 Red Onion

2 Cloves Of Garlic

1 400g Pack Of Turkey Mince

1 Courgette

1/2 An Aubergine

1 Carrot

1 Parsnip

A Handful Of Button Mushrooms

(But ideally use up whatever veg you have around the house)

1 Gluten Free Chicken Stock Cube

1 Teaspoon of Tomato Puree

Generous Pinch of Thyme

Salt And Pepper To Taste.

 

Preheat your oven, 190C electric, gas mark 5

Peel and chop the sweet potatoes, place in a pan of salted water, bring to the boil for approx 10 -12 minutes, or until soft.

Heat a large frying pan over a low heat and add some oil. Finely chop the onion and  garlic, fry off the onions until they are soft and starting to caramelise around the edges. Add the Garlic and Thyme to the pan, cook for another minute.

Add the turkey mince and cook through. Chop the rest of the veg and add to the mince. Add 1/2 a cup of water, tomato puree and stock cube, stirring occasionally, allow to simmer for another 10 minutes, letting the veg to soften.

Finely chop the sprint onions. Drain the sweet potatoes and return to the pan. Add a knob of dairy free spread, salt and pepper, mash throughly. Stir in the spring onions and make sure they are evenly distributed.

Spoon the mince into an oven proof dish and add a layer of mash over the top.

Place in over for 35-40 minutes or until mash has started to colour on it’s peaks.

I love this dish served with a big helping of my home made ratatouille and baby leaf salad.

image-5

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato And Turkey Pie

Leave a Reply

